How to Set Up Bria iPhone Edition

Bria iPhone Edition is a carrier-grade SIP softphone for Apple iPhone™, iPod Touch™ and iPad™. Bria can be obtained from the Bria official website or the iPhone App Store.

Bria is also available for Windows, Mac and Android.

If you have purchased Bria Stretto for iPhone from SureVoIP then please see this guide to have your softphone automatically provisioned.

  1. Once installed, ensure you have WiFi and/or 3G properly set up on your device.
  2. Launch Bria, ensuring you have your SureVoIP Account information handy.
  3. Tap the + button at the top-right and fill out the details with the account information provided.
    • Display As can be your name.
    • Username is the SureVoIP SIP username as provided.
      It may also be referred to as the Authentication Name or Register Name.
      If you have a SureVoIP Hosted phone system, this will be your Extension.
    • Password is the SureVoIP SIP password as provided.
    • Domain is the SIP Proxy or Registration Server as provided.
      It may also be referred to as Authentication server or Proxy server.
  4. Tap Register
  5. Once registered, try placing a call by tapping the Phone icon.

For information on other features, please consult the Bria iPhone Edition User Manual.

If you can not register, check over your username and password, and that the SIP settings have been entered correctly .

Ensure you have WiFi or 3G enabled (you will need to have a data plan with your provider).

Check you have STUN disabled.

  1. Settings > Advanced > Network Traversal Strategy and select Server Managed
  2. Settings > Advanced > Your Account > Account Advanced and set Global IP to OFF

Check the SIP Transport is set to TCP - only do this for troubleshooting, you should normally use UDP.

  1. Settings > Advanced > Your Account > Account Advanced and set SIP Transport to TCP
  2. Settings > Advanced > Your Account > Account Advanced and set Encrypt Audio to Never

If you are connecting to the Internet using WiFi then ensure SIP ALG has been disabled on your router. See this page for more information.